The Parliament of Sri Lanka approved a Code of Conduct for Members of Parliament on 7 March 2018 and adopted it with effect from 15 April 2018.

Part VIII of the Code of Conduct deals with decorum in Parliament. Emphasis ours.

The Code also allows for any person to lodge a complaint against an MP for the breach of any provision as well as unethical conduct. The only caveat is that a complaint by someone who isn’t an MP needs to be counter-signed by one. This is a procedural burden we hope, in these extraordinary circumstances, will be undertaken by the few non-violent MPs left in Parliament.

Groundviews has drafted a sample letter to send to the Speaker. Download it as a Word document here.

The sample letter is a complaint against Johnston Fernando’s violation of the Code of Conduct. Relevant images to attach to the complaint, from a plethora of others online, are below.

We strongly encourage readers to download the template, fill in the name of MPs who acted violently in Parliament and send it to the Speaker. The address below is provided by the Speaker’s Office;

Parliament of Sri Lanka,
Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte,
Sri Lanka.

To aid in the submission of these letters,

  • Archived video coverage of the violence in Parliament, from 16 November 2018, can be accessed here.
  • A complete list of MPs, their District and contact details, can be accessed here.